What are you looking for? 

Is This A scam?

Author Message
Icon Mini Profile firstbornrobbin



Joined: 09 Jun 2008

Posts: 1



1.45 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 4:38 pm    Post subject: Is This A scam?

My aunt was contacted by a company who told her she will get rich by renting out her timeshare, she recieved a quit claim deed in the mail for her to sign with witnesses present they mention she'd be receiving 10.00 for transfer of property which she'd be relinquishing all rights to. In addition they asked her for her credit card number and she gave to them over the phone. I told her to cancel her card A.S.A.P. Does this sound like a scam?
 
image
Icon Mini Profile cliff
cliff
Community Experts
Community Experts

Joined: 05 May 2008

Posts: 290
Location: Houston


64.95 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 5:29 pm    Post subject:

Definatley a SCAM!!! Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Cliff Pape
Market Analyst
www.home-buddies.com
 
image
Icon Mini Profile smckaybiz
s.mckaybiz


Joined: 24 Apr 2008

Posts: 106
Location: PA


11.20 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Mon Jun 09, 2008 7:00 pm    Post subject:

You really have to think about it. Why do you need a company to rent out your timeshare when you can just do it yourself. And credit card #? You should also make sure that the form she filled out didn't include her Social Security number. If so you may want to put a fraud alert on her credit bureaus.
_________________
Scott McKay
DiYCreditGuide.com
 
image
Icon Mini Profile cliff
cliff
Community Experts
Community Experts

Joined: 05 May 2008

Posts: 290
Location: Houston


64.95 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 5:52 am    Post subject:

Great Advice tell her to run it is a SCAM if it is not they are very unethical!!! Evil or Very Mad
_________________
Cliff Pape
Market Analyst
www.home-buddies.com
 
image
Icon Mini Profile laphillips
laphillips


Joined: 10 May 2008

Posts: 134
Location: Yucaipa, CA


33.92 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:06 pm    Post subject: Is This A scam?

Unbelievable! Definitely a scam...if she's renting the property out why would she have give up all rights?! I hope she has followed your advice & contcted her credit cad company.
_________________
Lynnette Phillips
Loan Officer/Realtor,
Foreclosure Consultant
Home Pride Mortgage
My Blog: http://helpingufindaway.blogspot.com
My website: http://lynnettephillips.com

**This is not intended as legal advice. I am not an attorney.**
 
image
Icon Mini Profile cliff
cliff
Community Experts
Community Experts

Joined: 05 May 2008

Posts: 290
Location: Houston


64.95 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:38 pm    Post subject:

Whats the name of the company we need to put the word out so other people do not get scammed!!! Mad
_________________
Cliff Pape
Market Analyst
www.home-buddies.com
 
image
Icon Mini Profile jbarto65



Joined: 04 Nov 2007

Posts: 626



-0.11 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:51 pm    Post subject:

Your aunt is really lucky to have you there to help her out with this, these type of predators seek out and take advantage of the elderly, some lose their entire life savings or a very big chunk of change to these sleaze balls.

I would like to know the name of the company also, I think they all should be exposed so that others don't fall for this scam. Thank you for sharing your story, hopefully it will make people more aware.
 
image
Icon Mini Profile cliff
cliff
Community Experts
Community Experts

Joined: 05 May 2008

Posts: 290
Location: Houston


64.95 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Tue Jun 10, 2008 3:53 pm    Post subject:

Please get the name of this company because we do not want them to bother anyone else and we can get the word out through the web.
_________________
Cliff Pape
Market Analyst
www.home-buddies.com
 
image
Icon Mini Profile brian1
brian1
Community Experts
Community Experts

Joined: 14 Jun 2008



Posts: 322
Location: Northern California


55.16 Dollars($)

PostPosted: Fri Jun 20, 2008 7:59 pm    Post subject:

wow defitnitely a scam or a company that if legit should be avoided.

Good Luck whats the name of the company
Brian

_________________
Licensed Broker 50 states
http://www.aimwithfocus.com
Need quick advise email or PM Glad to help
 
image
Quick Reply
Your Name
Subject
Message body

All times are GMT - 7 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Highlights
Helpful References
Mortgage Guide
Mortgage Terminology
Industry News
Book Center
Shop and Compare lenders
30 Yr. Fixed Vs. 5/1 ARM


Calculators     [View all]
Are you eligible for loan?
How much you can afford?
Calculate monthly payment
Calculate APR


Financial Tools
Credit Repair Tool
Mortgage Planner
Simple Budgeting Tool


Community Rewards
Five simple ways to earn money with the Mortgage Community.

MortgageFit Live Help

Explore the lender near you

Google Map Image

MF Talk

 
About Us  | Contact Us  | Our Blog  | Privacy Policy  | Testimonials  | Website Tools  | RSS Feeds  | Site Map 
We have chosen to apply the Creative Commons Attribution License to all works we publish.
This work is licensed under cc by 2.0